I Was a Free Range Kid

That’s the title of a piece for Thought Catalog I wrote up. It starts off personal, then explores the “free range kid” vs. “helicopter kid” – as in the kids of helicopter parents – idea:

As mostly an 80s kid, not a 90s kid, I was an authentic free range kid. I was a paperboy, I explored garbage-strewn suburban creeks, and I pretended to be James Bond in unsupervised, half-built public parks way before Daniel Craig’s stint as 007 came along. I think it was the series’ View to a Kill that set me off, what with its rad Duran Duran soundtrack and all. Not that music was my thing in those early pre-teen days, apart from whatever the ‘rents were listening to (and you can bet it wasn’t “Rent”).

Untitled

Leave a Reply

